In the Spotlight

One Stubborn Cowboy

One Stubborn Cowboy

Book Three: Cowboy Hero Series

One night I came out of the grocery story and saw this cute cowboy sitting in the driver’s seat of a rugged pickup truck. As I passed, I noticed a wheel chair in the back of the truck. This sparked the idea of a wheel-chair bound cowboy.

What would it be like to have been a man of action, excitement and adventure, at home in the wide open ranges, on horseback surveying all he owned when suddenly it was all taken away and he was bound to a wheelchair. Would he be bitter, angry at the world, reclusive, or all of the above? Introduce him to a perky children’s book writer who radiated positive energy, was fascinated by life in a ranching town and found good in everything.

This book is in a fictitious setting, but based on places I see when driving home from the bay area. The towns of Lockford and Clements were the places that sparked descriptions of town life. The rolling hills of the central valley of California are the setting for this book.

» Find out more

Also Available

Trusting Jake
Trusting Jake

Romantic Suspense

USA Today best selling author Barbara McMahon has another departure from straight contemporary romance, this book is more romantic suspense.  Years ago Kassie Montgomery fled her home when attempts were made on her life. Now P.I. Jake Lancaster has found her hiding place and vows to take her back to the family she doesn’t trust.

When danger comes to them, Kassie has nowhere else to turn.

Can she trust Jake to keep her safe while she attempts to discover who’s trying to kill her and end the threat once and for all?

» Find out more
» Order Today

A note from Barbara

Welcome to my website!

So glad you stopped by. I hope you’ll explore all of my website to learn about the romance novels I’ve written and a bit about me.  After years of writing contemporary romance novels, I ventured into an historical one, set in the English Regency period, and my latest, a romantic suspense book

It’s been said my books are emotionally heartfelt romance stories. I like to think I touch the heart of my characters and share their ups and downs on the rocky road to true happiness. Cowboys are my favorite heroes, but I also branch out to other areas and have written several romances with a Christian Inspiration theme–with more to come.

A couple of themes tie some books together.  The Cowboy Hero series always have a cowboy as the hero and are, of course, set in the American West. The Tropical Escape books have a sea setting–whether on a sloop in the Caribbean or some exotic tropical island I tried to capture the feel of sea breezes, warm waters and love.  And my Rocky Point books are all set in the fictitious town of Rocky Point, Maine.

Do check out some excerpts from different books. I hope you’ll find one or two that catch your fancy.

Let’s keep in touch. You can follow me on Facebook and Twitter.   Do please sign up for my Readers Group and I’ll let you know when I have new books coming out.  And do write and let me know how you like the books. I’d love to hear from you.